Syd's FICTION picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Secret Lives of Church Ladies Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781949199734
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: West Virginia University Press - September 1st, 2020

An endearing, honest, entertaining collection of stories. Perfect for summer reading. These stories will stay with you.


Staff Pick Badge
One Last Stop Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250244499
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 1st, 2021

A super cute love story with mystery and intrigue and family drama, too!


Staff Pick Badge
Unsettled Ground Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781951142483
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Tin House Books - May 18th, 2021

A stark family drama with mystery and finding yourself.


Pet Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593175446
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Marrow Thieves Cover Image
$14.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781770864863
Published: Dcb - September 1st, 2017

A near future where indigenous peoples are being hunted for their dreams. This story is so close to reality. It gets you in the feels and doesn't stop when you're done reading.


Staff Pick Badge
The Seed Keeper Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571311375
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 9th, 2021

A lovely story of family, culture, and overcoming hardships.


Staff Pick Badge
We Begin at the End Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250759665
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - March 2nd, 2021

A mystery and more. Well thought out characters, deep backstories, and a twist at the end!


Staff Pick Badge
A Thousand Ships: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063065390
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Harper - January 26th, 2021

The Trojan war as told from the female point of view!


The Rib King: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062979063
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Amistad - January 19th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Milk Blood Heat Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802158154
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Grove Press - February 2nd, 2021

A stunning collection of short stories! Usually, shorts aren't my thing, but this book kept me rapt and eager for the next story. Especially poignant for mothers, daughters, and women.


Staff Pick Badge
Libertie: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616207014
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - March 30th, 2021

This will be one of the top fiction books for 2021. This story was unlike any I've read before. Historical and personal, it is the story of free Black Americans during reconstruction. It is the story of a mother and daughter, a woman and her husband, a people and their country. Rich, original, and enlightening. "Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge's new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for readers of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi."


Staff Pick Badge
Sorrowland: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374266776
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: MCD - May 4th, 2021

This book is a trip. A journey. A marvel.


The Deep Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781534439870
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - August 4th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
The Lowering Days: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062994134
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Harper - March 2nd, 2021

An engaging story of family and loss.


Staff Pick Badge
The Death of Vivek Oji: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525541622
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 25th, 2021

This is a devasting book. Every word is beautiful. You'll cry for every character. I listened to the audio and then had to buy a physical copy just to hold the words in my hands.


Staff Pick Badge
The Love We Share Without Knowing: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780553385649
Published: Bantam - November 25th, 2008

Intertwining stories gorgeously flush out what love means


Staff Pick Badge
The Rain Heron: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374539306
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: FSG Originals - February 9th, 2021

A mysterious story of a woman's quest to find a mythical bird and coming to terms with cruelty in ourselves and others.


Staff Pick Badge
The Searcher: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735224650
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Viking - October 6th, 2020

The newest Tana French is one of her best! The Searcher follows an American Ex-pat trying to peacefully retire in Ireland. Of course, he is pulled into the mystery of a missing young man and some secretive locals.


Staff Pick Badge
The Forgotten Kingdom: A Novel (The Lost Queen #2) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501191466
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Atria Books - June 8th, 2021

The second book in a series, I loved this even more than the first! If you're into Arthurian legend and historical fiction, this is for you!


Staff Pick Badge
The Four Winds: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250178602
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 2nd, 2021

Another gorgeous novel from Hannah. Set during the dust bowl and the westward migrations of poor families seeking work. It amplifies the toil, the pain, the desperation that people went through and how they fought for a better life.


Staff Pick Badge
Whiskey When We're Dry: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735220454
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Penguin Books - July 2nd, 2019

A gritty western with a girl protagonist! Sharp shooting, lgbt characters, family drama and more!


Empire of Wild: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062975959
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - July 27th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Queen: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501191428
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Atria Books - June 4th, 2019

The Lost Queen tells the story of Merlin's sister! Great story for lovers of Arthurian legend!


Staff Pick Badge
Kingdomtide Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316420112
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - January 26th, 2021

An original read about awakenings, mysteries, survival, and relationships.


Staff Pick Badge
The Bear Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781942658702
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Bellevue Literary Press - February 11th, 2020

A sparsely told tale of the last person on earth, the bear that saves her, and human memory


Staff Pick Badge
In the Woods: A Novel (Dublin Murder Squad #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143113492
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2008

Tana French is the reason I started to read mysteries/thrillers. Start with In the Woods or The Likeness and go from there! You'll love the Dublin Murder Squad!


Staff Pick Badge
Devolution: A Firsthand Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre Cover Image
$17.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781984826800
Published: Del Rey Books - February 9th, 2021

You know a sasquatch massacre is going to happen and this book delivers. Max Brooks knows how to turn a slow burn into a gruesome climax.


Greenwood Cover Image
$18.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781984822017
Published: Hogarth Press - February 9th, 2021

What I thought was going to be a sort of dystopian book turned out to be a sprawling historical fiction. I won't soon forget the Greenwood brothers


Staff Pick Badge
The Pull of the Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316499033
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - July 6th, 2021

A few days in the life of a midwife during the 1918 flu pandemic. Donoghue knows how to pull you in and tug at your heartstrings with the story of an Irish nurse, her patients, and a fiesty volunteer helper.


A Witch in Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316493611
Availability: Usually Ships in 2-7 Days
Published: Redhook - August 18th, 2020

Pre-Order Now Badge
A History of Wild Places: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982164805
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Atria Books - December 7th, 2021