**Preorders of books Gretchen Loves

These books aren't released yet, but you can preorder them and get them when they come out! Please place a separate web order for preorders vs books that are already on sale so we don't hang onto your order until the preorder comes out.  

Staff Pick Badge
Nona the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Series #3) By Tamsyn Muir Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250854117
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Tordotcom - September 13th, 2022

My honest review of this book is basically inarticulate screaming, wailing, gnashing of teeth, rending of garments, etc. I've rarely in my adult life been so INTO a book series--I've re-read and re-listened to Gideon and Harrow multiple times, and Nona will soon join the rotation. These books are bonkers fun and I loved every wild and confusing and sweet and funny moment of Nona, and am eagerly awaiting Alecto! Very glad Nona got her own book--I love her with a similar depth of passion as I do Gideon and Harrow respectively. Remarkable. What the fuck is going ON??? I can't wait.


Staff Pick Badge
Leech By Hiron Ennes Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250811189
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Tordotcom - September 27th, 2022

I adored this book--what an unsettling book full of creepiness, classic gothic horror, and a truly fascinating take on personhood. I loved the way this book blended familiar horror tropes with a deeply considered and thoughtful approach to worldbuilding. Truly unique and gruesome and unexpectedly hopeful, this book is fantastic for fans of queer modern Gothic horror. CW include body horror, infection plotlines, eyeball stuff, miscarriage, child sexual assault, and infant death (murder?).


Staff Pick Badge
How to Read Now: Essays By Elaine Castillo Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593489635
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Viking - July 26th, 2022

You didn't know how much you, a self-identified reader of progressive values, need to read this book--you absolutely do. It gets into the WHY we read--and how the industries and messages and social conventions around why we read--and who reads, and what they read, and who makes it possible for them to read what they are reading--with a sharp anger and humor. Part memoir of a queer Filipina writer, part manifesto against the racism embedded in publishing and bookselling and book reviewing, this is a book that every self-described reader should read.


Staff Pick Badge
A Strange and Stubborn Endurance (The Tithenai Chronicles #1) By Foz Meadows Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250829139
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Tor Books - July 26th, 2022

Fans of Evarina Maxwell, Freya Marske, and KJ Charles take heed! An engaging entry into the gay arranged marriage romance trope, this novel fizzes with emotion and centers Velasin’s journey of recovery and trust after a previous lover’s assault—all while he and his new husband, the sunny and kind Cae, rush to find the individual responsible for the politically-motivated attacks on them and their loved ones.


The Genesis of Misery By Neon Yang Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788979
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Tor Books - September 27th, 2022

The Honeys By Ryan La Sala Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338745313
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: PUSH - August 16th, 2022

A Half-Built Garden By Ruthanna Emrys Cover Image
$26.99
This item is out of stock with our warehouse. Some recently published books may be in stock @ Room. Email to check.
ISBN: 9781250210982
Published: Tordotcom - July 26th, 2022

Ocean's Echo By Everina Maxwell Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250758866
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Tor Books - November 1st, 2022

Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution By R. F. Kuang Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063021426
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Harper Voyager - August 23rd, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Small Game: A Novel By Blair Braverman Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063066175
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Ecco - November 1st, 2022