Jes's Picks

Quiet Girl in a Noisy World: An Introvert's Story Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781449486068
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - November 7th, 2017

CIRCE Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316556347
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

Undermajordomo Minor: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062281227
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - June 21st, 2016

Accidental Saints: Finding God in All the Wrong People Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9781601427557
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Convergent Books - September 8th, 2015

The Girl Who Slept with God: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143109433
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - July 5th, 2016

Staff Pick Badge
The Hospital Suite Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781770461642
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - September 23rd, 2014

Jess's Rec: I've long been a fan of Porcellino's simple, zen-like illustration and intimate storytelling. His latest book is no exception-- I felt transported and transfixed to John's personal journey through hospital diagnoses, personal crises, and anxiety.


Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393351903
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 28th, 2015

Jess's Rec: Do you know what will happen to your body after death? Do you want to? Perfect for fans of Six Feet Under, the macabre, or an interest in the mysterious death industry; I felt like Caitlin was my very own (quirky) personal guide to a world I never knew existed!


The Bees: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062331175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - May 12th, 2015

Jess's Rec: Another great dystopian novel perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood-- as long as you don't mind all the characters are bees! Informative and bizarre, but definitely a unique reading experience.


Staff Pick Badge
Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780763673680
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 10th, 2015

Jess's Rec: A wonderful book introducing both the brave narratives of transgender (and genderqueer ) teens in their own words, as well as a thoughful and emotional portrait of identity. Powerful stuff. I couldn't stop reading!


Staff Pick Badge
How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right the First Time Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780937381885
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Brewers Publications - May 17th, 2006

Jess's Rec: Having started my homebrew hobby (read: obsession) this summer, this book proves very informative for beginner and professional alike. Quick to get you started, this book has endless information about the fine points of brewing that will start you off right and then develop your skills later as you learn to craft to your own taste. Highly recommended!


Staff Pick Badge
The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780143123828
Availability: Special Order
Published: Penguin Books - March 26th, 2013

Jess's Rec: A breakout first novel by author Jack Wolf, this book is equal parts Sleepy Hallow meets American Psycho--- not as far as gore, mind you! (Title non-withstanding) Following 17th century anatomist-in-training Tristan Hart, magic meets the age of reason in a strange love story dripping with sadism, following an unreliable (and seemingly quite mad) narrator. Very memorable!


Staff Pick Badge
Building Stories (Pantheon Graphic Library) Cover Image
$60.00
ISBN: 9780375424335
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - October 2nd, 2012

Jess's Rec: This mystical box, containing a decade's worth of work, could rightly be called Chris Ware's magnum opus; an impressive statement overshadowing even Ware's genre-changing work Jimmy Corrigan.


Staff Pick Badge
The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside The Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476730400
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 7th, 2014

Jess's Rec: This book is necessary reading to anyone who has ever seen the cult classic trainwreck of a movie The Room (dubbed by many to be the worst ever made.) This book, written by "Mark" of Room fame, documents his experiences working on-set, and attempts to delve into the psychology of Tommy Wiseau and the plot-hole-ridden script.


Ghosts Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545540629
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Staff Pick Badge
Zen Confidential: Confessions of a Wayward Monk Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781611800333
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Shambhala - May 14th, 2013

Jess's Rec: Think Zen monks aren't human like the rest of us? Think again-- I loved this book! A truly realistic (and joyfully humorous) look at the struggle to be spiritual. Follow Haubner's journey to monkhood reflecting on the meaning to be gleaned from the strangest experiences.


Staff Pick Badge
I Want My Hat Back Cover Image
By Jon Klassen, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763655983
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - September 27th, 2011

Jess's Rec: A mischievous kid's book as much for adults as for children (especially the ending!) Wonderfully illustrated, and serves as a great teaching fable for a younger audience.


Ghosts Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545540629
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016