G's Picks

I'm G! I'm a cartoonist and bookseller and while I read a lot of comics, I also really love horror, poetry, and the occasional memoir or essay. I'm also a full time auntie so I'll always have a ton of kids book recs as well!
Manhunt By Gretchen Felker-Martin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250794642
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Tor Nightfire - February 22nd, 2022

Wow. First off, buy this book. Manhunt is a post apocalyptic novel following two trans women travelling the New England coast, hunting feral men, and desperately trying to find safety in the remains of a world that is being taken over by terfs. This book is gruesome, brutal, and loving. I'm getting choked up just writing this review! Do yourself a favor and read this book.


Sfsx (Safe Sex) Volume 1: Protection By Tina Horn, Michael Dowling (Artist), Jen Hickman (Artist) Cover Image
By Tina Horn, Michael Dowling (Artist), Jen Hickman (Artist)
$9.99
This item is out of stock with our warehouse. Some recently published books may be in stock @ Room. Email to check.
ISBN: 9781534315853
Published: Image Comics - July 28th, 2020

From notorious kink writer TINA HORN comes an erotic thriller about sex, torture, and love. In an America where sexuality is bureaucratized and monitored (Sound familiar?) a group of trans and queer sex workers fight to hold on to their community and overthrow the power that seeks to wipe them out.


Sfsx, Volume 2: Terms of Service By Tina Horn, G. Romero-Johnston (Artist), Tula Lotay (Artist) Cover Image
By Tina Horn, G. Romero-Johnston (Artist), Tula Lotay (Artist)
$16.99
This item is out of stock with our warehouse. Some recently published books may be in stock @ Room. Email to check.
ISBN: 9781534319899
Published: Image Comics - November 30th, 2021

For fans of Ex Machina, Brazil, and The Thing comes the follow up to SFSX Protection, this time with robots and bimbos! Seriously, this book will teach you to never underestimate a bimbo.


We Too: Essays on Sex Work and Survival: Essays on Sex Work and Survival By Natalie West (Editor), Tina Horn (Associate Editor), Melissa Gira Grant (Contribution by) Cover Image
By Natalie West (Editor), Tina Horn (Associate Editor), Melissa Gira Grant (Contribution by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781558612853
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Feminist Press - February 9th, 2021

We Too is a fundamental book on the topic of sex work and decriminalization. It's a stunning collection of narrative essays by current and former sex workers responding and reflecting on their experiences of harassment and violence across the sex industry.


The Many Deaths of Laila Starr  By Ram V, Filipe Andrade (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ram V, Filipe Andrade (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781684158058
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: BOOM! Studios - February 1st, 2022

The Many Deaths of Laila Starr is a look into the bureaucracy of the afterlife, and what happens to Death when the discovery of immortality is just a few years away. Bittersweet and gorgeous, this is a book for fans of Good Omens and Beetlejuice.


Made in Korea By Jeremy Holt, George Schall (Artist) Cover Image
By Jeremy Holt, George Schall (Artist)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534320116
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Image Comics - February 1st, 2022

I'm obsessed with depictions of AI in the media and this book blew my socks off! As an identical triplet, nonbinary person, and Korean adoptee, Holt brings a lot of their own experience to the table. This book explores race, gender, AI, and parenthood seamlessly and has skyrocketed to one of my favorite comics of the year! (And I read a lot of them!)


Tender Is the Flesh By Agustina Bazterrica, Sarah Moses (Translated by) Cover Image
By Agustina Bazterrica, Sarah Moses (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781982150921
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Scribner - August 4th, 2020

Tender Is the Flesh is the first book I've read in awhile that made me like I was being gaslit. It explores a world forced into cannibalism after a virus contaminates all animal life outside of humans. The story explores many facets of the meat industry and it does NOT hold back. TW rape and cannabalism


Mina By Matthew Forsythe, Matthew Forsythe (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480413
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - February 15th, 2022

Matthew Forsythe might make my favorite kids books. Mina blew my socks off when I got it for my niece with it's charm and gorgeous art! Forsythe's work tends to surround little animal kids going on misadventures with parents and they're so wonderful!


Where Are You From? By Yamile Saied Méndez, Jaime Kim (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Yamile Saied Méndez, Jaime Kim (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062839930
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: HarperCollins - June 4th, 2019

I found this while shopping for my niece, and it made me cry. As a mixed race person who is constantly asked where I'm from, this is the book I needed as a kid and kind of needed now. Also as an Argentine, it blew me away as I read this book and realized it's about Argentina!! Anyway, best book ever.


Pet By Akwaeke Emezi Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525647072
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Make Me a World - September 10th, 2019

I took a chance on listening to the audiobook version of this after hearing some good stuff, and this might be my new favorite book? Jam is a selectively mute black trans girl who accidentally pulls a terrifying creature out of her mother's painting. The story explores the dichotomy of good and evil, and gives a ton of nuance on abuse and what goes unseen in a seemingly perfect society. Big trigger warning for child abuse and CSA.


Hustling Verse: An Anthology of Sex Workers' Poetry By Amber Dawn (Editor), Justin DuCharme (Editor) Cover Image
By Amber Dawn (Editor), Justin DuCharme (Editor)
$17.95
This item is out of stock with our warehouse. Some recently published books may be in stock @ Room. Email to check.
ISBN: 9781551527819
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 15th, 2019

'Every time a sex worker is spoken about in an academic setting, a poem dies,' This is a jaw dropping collection of poetry from current and former sex workers from every corner of the industry. These are poems about trauma, pleasure, labor, and community, about complicating the idea of the 'happy hooker,' or the 'tragic whore.' READ IT.


Little Fish By Casey Plett Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781551527208
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - May 1st, 2018

Little Fish is a book about a group of trans women in Canada navigating alcoholism, sex work, suicide, and religion. It's brutal, raw and every page felt heartbreakingly familiar. The dialogue feels straight up pulled from conversations I've had with friends, it made me laugh and it made me sob. READ THIS BOOK!!!


The Well By Jake Wyatt, Choo (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jake Wyatt, Choo (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626724143
Availability: In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.
Published: First Second - May 24th, 2022

The Well was a tasty little fantasy with some real attention to worldbuilding, a very lived in archipelago that feels so carefully crafted and full of myth and monsters. The main character Li Zhen fights to make things right after they unknowingly steal wishes from a well and anger the spirit that resides within. Cute gay romance, but the real charm of this book is how Li Zhen deals with their mistakes and herrelationship with her ā gōng.