Events

News posts and recaps of events (posted separately from the event pages)

RESCHEDULED: Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor

A Room of One's Own is thrilled to welcome Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor!

The Goblin Emperor is a vividly imagined coming-of-age fantasy of court intrigue and dark magics in a steampunk-inflected world perfect for fans of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and and Marie Brennan's Tropic of Serpents. Nominated for the Nebula, Hugo, and World Fantasy awards, this stunning standalone fantasy is available now available in paperback with a beautiful new cover.

Pamela Toler, author of Women Warriors

A Room of One's Own is excited to welcome Pamela Toler, author of Women Warriors!

Kim Suhr, author of Nothing to Lose

A Room of One's Own is thrilled to present a reading with Kim Suhr, author of Nothing to Lose!

CANCELLED DUE TO WEATHER - Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor

A Room of One's Own is thrilled to welcome Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor!

The Goblin Emperor is a vividly imagined coming-of-age fantasy of court intrigue and dark magics in a steampunk-inflected world perfect for fans of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and and Marie Brennan's Tropic of Serpents. Nominated for the Nebula, Hugo, and World Fantasy awards, this stunning standalone fantasy is available now available in paperback with a beautiful new cover.

David Couper, author of In My 80th Year

A Room of One's Own welcomes former chief of police, pastor, and poet David Couper to discuss his latest collection of poetry, In My 80th Year!

Couper’s latest of five books of poetry uncovers and addresses an area of his life in which he, up to this time, had not addressed: his life as a police officer. In My 80th Year contains 56 new poems and addresses the harrowing times in the life of a cop, encounters with race and racism, a loving relationship, suicides, and those men and women with whom he has worked over the years. 

Jimmy Brandmeier, author of Be Who You Are

Brandmeier event photo

A Room of One's Own is happy to welcome Jimmy Brandmeier, author of Be Who You Are!

Marilyn Annucci & DeWitt Clinton Read from Their New Collections

Annucci/Clinton event photo

A Room of One's Own is excited to welcome two brilliant Wisconsin poets: Marilyn Annucci, author of The Arrows That Choose Us, and DeWitt Clinton, author of At the End of the War!

A Book of Their Own Holiday Book Drive for Madison Reading Project

This holiday season, we are partnering with Madison Reading Project (MRP) for a book drive! Madison Reading Project, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, is looking for books for children from babies to about 12 years old, which means you have a wealth of childrens' literature to choose from! In general, MRP is looking for books in English, Spanish and Hmong, current releases, popular chapter book series, board books for babies/young toddlers, and chapter books, as well as books depicting diverse children engaged in everyday activities.

Baby Goes to Market Cover Image
By Atinuke, Angela Brooksbank (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763695705
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - September 5th, 2017

Princess Hair Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316562614
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 31st, 2017

Don't Touch My Hair! Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316562584
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 6th, 2018

A Different Pond (Fiction Picture Books) Cover Image
By Bao Phi, Thi Bui (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781623708030
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Capstone Young Readers - August 1st, 2017

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut (Denene Millner Books) Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781572842243
Availability: Backordered
Published: Agate Bolden - October 10th, 2017

Love Is Cover Image
By Diane Adams, Claire Keane (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781452139975
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - January 24th, 2017

I Survived Collection: Books #1-4 Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781338102499
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 26th, 2016

Counting with -Contando Con Frida Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781495126567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lil' Libros - March 21st, 2015

The Day You Begin Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399246531
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2018

Mango, Abuela y yo Cover Image
By Meg Medina, Angela Dominguez (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780763680992
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - August 25th, 2015

Soñadores Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823442584
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 4th, 2018

Drawn Together Cover Image
By Minh Lê, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484767603
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 5th, 2018

Alma and How She Got Her Name Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780763693558
Availability: Backordered
Published: Candlewick - April 10th, 2018

Me And My Fear Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781911171539
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flying Eye Books - September 11th, 2018

The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

Shades of Black: A Celebration of Our Children Cover Image
By Sandra L. Pinkney, Myles Pinkney (Illustrator), Myles C. Pinkney (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780439802512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Cartwheel Books - January 1st, 2006

I Am Enough Cover Image
By Grace Byers, Keturah A. Bobo (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062667120
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 6th, 2018

Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062742469
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 16th, 2018

#notyourprincess: Voices of Native American Women Cover Image
By Charleyboy (Editor), Leatherdale (Editor)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781554519576
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Annick Press - September 12th, 2017

Pride: The Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag Cover Image
By Rob Sanders, Steven Salerno (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399555312
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 10th, 2018

Merci Suárez Changes Gears Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780763690496
Availability: Backordered
Published: Candlewick - September 11th, 2018

Jabari Jumps Cover Image
By Gaia Cornwall, Gaia Cornwall (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780763678388
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - May 9th, 2017

Warriors Box Set: Volumes 1 to 3: Into the Wild, Fire and Ice, Forest of Secrets (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062373298
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 17th, 2015

Miles Morales: Spider-Man (A Marvel YA Novel) Cover Image
By Jason Reynolds, Kadir Nelson (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781484788509
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Marvel Press - October 2nd, 2018

Big Nate: Double Trouble: In a Class by Himself and Strikes Again Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062839466
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 20th, 2018

Pete the Cat's Giant Groovy Book: 9 Books in One (My First I Can Read) Cover Image
By James Dean, James Dean (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062868305
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - March 5th, 2019

Domo Geshe Rinpoche, author of Sensing Shades of Reality

A Room of One's Own, in coordination with Joyful Path Meditation and Healing Center, extends a warm welcome to Domo Geshe Rinpoche, author of Sensing Shades of Reality!

Alan Semrow, author of Ripe

Semrow event photo

A Room of One's Own is happy to welcome back Alan Semrow, author of Ripe!

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Events