Greta & Valdin (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Greta & Valdin By Rebecca K. Reilly, Eilidh Beaton (Read by), Gary Furlong (Read by) Cover Image
By Rebecca K. Reilly, Eilidh Beaton (Read by), Gary Furlong (Read by)
$39.99
This item is out of stock with our warehouse. Some recently published books may be in stock @ Room. Email to check.

Staff Reviews


Quite possibly my favorite book of the year. The audio narration is perfectly executed, which is no easy feat given the surprising breadth of accents this globally entangled Auckland-based family draws into their hearts--the readers voice with wry deprecation and warm embodied confusion the unforgettable titular queer millenial siblings at the heart of this hilarious, surprising, messy, and deeply moving novel of family and love. Reilly's relatable protagonists' chronic anxiety is delivered through humor and insight that comes from such a smart and specific character-based perspective--the ways Greta and Valdin not only speak but think and behave are so deeply because they are exactly who they are and come from the exact destabilized and fraught and loving cultures and experiences of their family members, and the humor works through their voice so well that you can't help but know and love them in their fallible, miserable, joyful reality--it's a masterclass in character work. Reilly is a genius of wielding specific detail to dramatic, insightful, and often deeply funny effect. This will join the few books I re-listen to, because the characters feel so real and their journeys are so messy and human and full of wildly off-kilter, deeply relatable choices, without the weight of tragic trauma that so often accompanies literary fiction about brown queer people. I love this book and I'll need it forever. Can't wait for everyone else to catch up.

— Gretchen

Description


For fans of Schitt's Creek and Sally Rooney's Normal People, an irresistible and bighearted international bestseller that follows a brother and sister as they navigate queerness, multiracial identity, and the dramas big and small of their entangled, unconventional family, all while flailing their way to love. It's been a year since his ex-boyfriend dumped him and moved from Auckland to Buenos Aires, and Valdin is doing fine. He has a good flat with his sister Greta, a good career where his colleagues only occasionally remind him that he is the sole Maori person in the office, and a good friend who he only sleeps with when he's sad. But when work sends him to Argentina and he's thrown back in his former lover's orbit, Valdin is forced to confront the feelings he's been trying to ignore--and the future he wants. Greta is not letting her painfully unrequited crush (or her possibly pointless master's thesis, or her pathetic academic salary...) get her down. She would love to focus on the charming fellow grad student she meets at a party and her friendships with a circle of similarly floundering twenty-somethings, but her chaotic family life won't stop intruding: her mother is keeping secrets, her nephew is having a gay crisis, and her brother has suddenly flown to South America without a word. Sharp, hilarious, and with an undeniable emotional momentum that builds to an exuberant conclusion, Greta & Valdin careens us through the siblings' misadventures and the messy dramas of their sprawling, eccentric Maori-Russian-Catalonian family. An acclaimed bestseller in New Zealand, Greta & Valdin is fresh, joyful, and alive with the possibility of love in its many mystifying forms.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797170527
ISBN-10: 179717052X
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 6th, 2024
Language: English