Dead Eleven: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Dead Eleven: A Novel By Jimmy Juliano Cover Image
$27.00
In stock with our warehouse--usually ships within 1-7 days. May or may not be in stock at Room.

Staff Reviews


An island community is stuck living like it's 1994, all to stop the inevitable takeover by invisible monsters? — From Syd's FICTION picks

Description


"An ominously slow burn...Keep the lights on for this one."—A PEOPLE MUST-READ FOR SUMMER
"Very creepy...you've been warned."R.L. STINE
"Gripping.”—ANA REYES

On a creepy island where everyone has a strange obsession with the year 1994, a newcomer arrives, hoping to learn the truth about her son’s death—but finds herself pulled deeper and deeper into the bizarrely insular community and their complicated rules…

Clifford Island. When Willow Stone finds these words written on the floor of her deceased son’s bedroom, she’s perplexed. She’s never heard of it before, but soon learns it’s a tiny island off Wisconsin’s Door County peninsula, 200 miles from Willow’s home. Why would her son write this on his floor? Determined to find answers, Willow sets out for the island.
 
After a few days on Clifford, Willow realizes: This place is not normal. Everyone seems to be stuck in a particular day in 1994: They wear outdated clothing, avoid modern technology, and, perhaps most mystifyingly, watch the OJ Simpson car chase every evening. When she asks questions, people are evasive, but she learns one thing: Close your curtains at night.
 
High schooler Lily Becker has lived on Clifford her entire life, and she is sick of the island’s twisted mythology and adhering to the rules. She’s been to the mainland, and everyone is normal there, so why is Clifford so weird? Lily is determined to prove that the islanders’ beliefs are a sham. But are they?
 
Five weeks after Willow arrives on the island, she disappears. Willow’s brother, Harper, comes to Clifford searching for his sister, and when he learns the truth—that this island is far more sinister than anyone could have imagined—he is determined to blow the whole thing open.
 
If he can get out alive....

About the Author


Jimmy Juliano is a writer and high school educator. Several of his stories have gone viral on the Reddit “NoSleep” forum, and his debut novel, Dead Eleven, is currently in development at A+E Studios. He lives outside Chicago with his wife, daughter, and miniature Goldendoodle.

Praise For…


"[A] breathtaking debut thriller... Juliano draws memorable characters and places them in an indelible setting, using artful prose and judicious dashes of dark humor to leave a major impression. It’s a scary-good debut." —Publishers Weekly (STARRED REVIEW)

“A creepy, fast-paced blast from the past…Juliano comes as a new voice in horror, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Grady Hendrix, and Paul Tremblay.” —Booklist

"An ominously slow burn set on a creepy fictional island that appears stuck in the past. When a woman vanishes, residents and visitors dig into the strange local mythology. Keep the lights on for this one.” —People

"Dead Eleven is a surprisingly considerate meditation on grief, nostalgia, and the human urge to control the unknown and unavoidable. Clifford Island and its inhabitants are a solid metaphor for blind faith, and the great and terrible things that people will do when they believe fervently in a cause. The book also contains one of the best descriptions of a horror novel antagonist I’ve ever had the chilling pleasure of encountering. It’s a solidly scary debut that has already been optioned for film and should translate to that medium magnificently." —Criminal Element

"Very creepy. Dreadfully creepy. Chillingly creepy. Horrifically creepy. You've been warned."
R.L. Stine, New York Times bestselling author of Goosebumps and Fear Street

“Dead Eleven
brought me right back to the nineties with its VHS tapes, Pogs and Trapper Keepers, balancing nostalgia and terror to explore the dangers of living in the past. If you liked Netflix's Stranger Things and Dark, don't miss Jimmy Juliano's gripping horror debut.” 
—Ana Reyes, New York Times bestselling author of The House in the Pines

Dead Eleven is a strikingly original treasure chest of horror, suspense and nostalgia. I’ve never read anything like it. Jimmy Juliano is a first-rate storyteller. I was spellbound from the opening page.” Richard Chizmar, New York Times bestselling author of Chasing The Boogeyman

“A captivating mystery – not unlike the story’s island – which draws you in and may never let you go. Jimmy Juliano proves how effortlessly he can create a deeply unsettling mood. Steeped in 90s nostalgia, this story instilled in me a claustrophobic dread. This small time-locked community seems equal parts idyllic and abhorrent which made me yearn to learn its secrets. Like a chilling lake breeze on a rocky beach, this book will send a shiver down your spine as it beckons you to follow it into the darkness.” —David Cummings, Creator of The NoSleep Podcast

“An unforgettable collage of mystery, suspense and mounting dread. With his debut novel, Jimmy Juliano cranks the amp on creepy chills up to 11.” —Steve Hockensmith, New York Times bestselling author of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls

“Nothing this full of dread, paranoia, and grief should be half as much fun as Jimmy Juliano’s Dead Eleven. A compelling island horror tale that drags you inexorably into its mystery. Put this at the top of your wishlist.” —Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Road of Bones and All Hallows

"I could tell you that Jimmy Juliano ripped a hole in my head and dumped in a gallon of nightmare juice, but that would be underselling all this book's got to offer. Dead Eleven is a work of uncommon craft, mood, and above all, heart. If an author doesn't make you care about their characters, a reader won't care what becomes of them. And man, this book will make you care."
Nick Cutter, nationally bestselling author of The Troop

“Places hold memories—and some places keep horrible secrets. Jimmy Juliano has woven together nostalgia, longing and atmospheric dread into a keep-you-up-all-night debut. Are you ready for the secrets of Clifford Island? Just be sure to close the curtains and whatever you do, don’t look out the windows.” —Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author of The Children on the Hill


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593471920
ISBN-10: 059347192X
Publisher: Dutton
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Pages: 448
Language: English