Patricia B. McConnell, author of The Education of Will

Event date: 
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 - 6:00pm
Patricia B McConnell author photo with Will, her border collie

A Room of One's Own is honored to welcome reknowned dog behaviorist Patricia B. McConnell for a reading and book launch for her new book, The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of A Woman and Her Dog!

About Patricia McConnell: Patricia McConnell, PhD, is an internationally known Zoologist and Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist who has treated serious behavior problems in dogs for over twenty-five years. She speaks around the world about canine behavior and training, and is the author of fourteen books, including the critically acclaimed The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do around Dogs. Dr. McConnell lives with her dogs and husband on a small farm near Madison, Wisconsin.

About The Education of Will: In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.

World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior—gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs—with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn’t just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth.

Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough.

Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients’ dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.

Event address: 
315 W. Gorham St.
Madison, WI 53703-2218
The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501150159
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 21st, 2017