Events

Select event terms to filter by
Sunday November 02, 2014
Thursday November 06, 2014
Start: 11/06/2014 6:00 pm

A Room of One's Own is honored to host Sandy Althomson for a reading and signing from her book Inside A Refugee Crisis: My Time in South Sudan. All proceeds from sales of this book go directly to Doctors Without Borders (Médecins Sans Frontières , or MSF).

Sandy Althomsons has been an epidemiologist with Doctors Without Borders (Médecins Sans Frontières , or MSF) since 2008 and has worked in Malawi, Uzbekistan and South Sudan. Sandy is a graduate of The Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, and when not on mission, works for the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Start: 11/06/2014 6:30 pm

A Room of One's Own is delighted to present beloved authors Jesse Lee Kercheval and Kelly Cherry for a reading from their latest works.

About Space: A Memoir: Jesse Lee Kercheval opens her story in Cocoa, Florida, in 1966 as a precocious ten-year-old whose family—father, mother, two little girls—is trying to ride the Space Race’s tide of optimism. But even as the rockets keep going up, the Kercheval family slowly spirals down.

Jesse Lee Kercheval was born in France and raised in Florida. She is the author of thirteen books of poetry, fiction, and memoir including the novels The Museum of Happiness and My Life as a Silent Movie and the writing text Building Fiction. The Sally Mead Hands Professor of English, she teaches creative writing at the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

About A Kind of Dream: Kelly Cherry's book asserts that life is A Kind of Dream. So is the art we make in response to life. In A Kind of Dream, five generations of an artistic family explore the ups and downs of life, discovering that for an artist even failure is success, because the work matters more than the self.

Kelly Cherry has previously published twenty-one books, nine chapbooks, and two translations of classical drama, including the novels My Life and Dr. Joyce Brothers, Augusta Played, We Can Still Be Friends, In the Wink of an Eye, and The Lost Traveller’s Dream. She is a former Poet Laureate of Virginia and the Eudora Welty Professor Emerita of English and Evjue-Bascom Professor Emerita in the Humanities at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. She lives in rural Virginia.

Friday November 07, 2014
Start: 11/07/2014 6:30 pm

A Room of One's Own is delighted to continue our tradition of supporting talented graphic novelists! Beloit-based John Porcellino joins us to discuss his striking new book The Hospital Suite, from Drawn & Quarterly.

JOHN PORCELLINO was born in Chicago, in 1968, and has been writing, drawing, and publishing minicomics, comics, and graphic novels for over thirty years. His celebrated self-published series King-Cat Comics, begun in 1989, has inspired a generation of cartoonists. Diary of a Mosquito Abatement Man, a collection of King-Cat stories about Porcellino’s experiences as a pest control worker, won an Ignatz Award in 2005, and Perfect Example, first published in 2000, chronicles his struggles with depression as a teenager. According to cartoonist Chris Ware, “John Porcellino’s comics distill, in just a few lines and words, the feeling of simply being alive.” He currently lives in Beloit, Wisconsin.

Sunday November 09, 2014
Start: 11/09/2014 2:00 pm

A Room of One's Own is happy to welcome baker of delectable pies Kate Lebo for a reading from her new book Pie School. Learn great tips from a baking pro!

Kate Lebo is the author of A Commonplace Book of Pie and The Pie Lady's Manifesto, a zine republished by The Rumpus in 2014. She founded Pie School, her roaming pastry academy, after graduating from the University of Washington's MFA program. Her poems have appeared in Best New Poets, Gastronomica, Willow Springs, and AGNI, among other journals, and she teaches creative writing workshops nationally. For more, visit KateLebo.com.

Welcome to Kate Lebo’s Pie School: Lessons in Fruit, Flour, and Butter! Come in, tie on an apron, and prepare for a thorough schooling in the delightful art of all things pie. Roll call: all the usual suspects are here as well as deliciously unique pies in chapters on rhubarb, blueberry, cherry, peach, plum, blackberry, apple, preserved fruits, and chiffon.

Here you’ll find no-nonsense techniques for creating that perfect flakey pie crust (Lebo has a best-in-show ribbon to prove it), tricks for choosing the best fruit for swoon-worthy fillings, and much more. Bring people together with Black Cherry Chiffon Pie with Chocolate Cookie Crust, Marionberry Pie with Hazlenut Crumble, Cheddar-Crusted Apple Pie, or Whiskey Maple Pecan Pie and watch the slices disappear.

Besides baking dreamy pies of all varieties, Lebo is an award-winning poet, and colorful diction creeps into her descriptions. Blueberries are “like the note taker in the group project, recording louder fruits’ flights of fancy and bringing them down to earth long enough to make something actually happen, so it’s not just pie in the sky.” Each bite of Peach Bourbon Pie is “like a long talk on a summer porch, crackling with sugar, spinning with alcohol.” Photos by Rina Jordan are as luscious as Lebo’s writing.

Friday November 14, 2014
Start: 11/14/2014 6:00 pm

A Room of One's Own is thrilled to host Kat Beyer for the launch of her new book, The Halcyon Bird, sequel to The Demon Catchers of Milan!

For fans of Lauren Kate and Cassandra Clare, a romance with a paranormal streak.

Mia has settled into her life with the Della Torres -- Milan's premier demon-catching family, accompanying them to exorcisms and even learning some way to be useful in the family trade. Then Bernardo comes into her life, handsome, well-mannered, someone who makes her forget her impossible crush on Emilio, her cousin. But always lurking in the background is the demon who possessed Mia once before, and who has not given up on possessing her again--this time for good.

Kat Beyer is a fine artist and writer who lives in Madison, Wisconsin, with her daughter. She has an M.S. in medieval history and has loved all things Italian for as long as she can remember. Her first novel was The Demon Catchers of Milan. Visit her online at www.katspaw.com.

Syndicate content